The Franciscan School
Faith, Academics, and Service
The Catholic Community of St. Francis of Assisi

Characteristics of a Catholic School Teacher

Let the little children come to me, and do not stop them; for it is to such as these that the kingdom of heaven belongs.
Matthew 19:14

A person responding to the ministry call to teach in a Catholic school has multiple roles within the classroom and school community. The teacher serves as a Christian role model, catechist, instructor and counselor. A teacher in the Catholic school strives to integrate academic instruction, life experience and prayer in his/her own faith life and in those of the students. Therefore, a teacher must be open to:

  • Growing in faith and understanding of the Church and facilitating the growth of faith and understanding in the lives of students
  • Being a person of prayer who endeavors to develop a sense of prayer within the students and school community
  • Fostering a community among the students, parish and staff, characterized by participation in the sacramental life of the Church, discussion and cooperation as citizens of the world and expressed through service and social action for peace and justice within the school and extended community

                                About TFS                                 

Faculty and Staff

Kindergarten

Barbara Dobner, Kindergarten Teacher

Licensure:  K-6 Elementary Education
Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
BS, University of Illinois
Appointed: 2008
barbara.dobner@stfrancisraleigh.org

 

Denise Rinderer, Instructional Teaching Assistant

Certification in Radiologic Technology,  Wheeling Hospital
Elementary Education Coursework, West Liberty University
Appointed:  2016
denise.rinderer@stfrancisraleigh.org

Laura Jerden, Kindergarten Teacher

Licensure:  Elementary Education
BA, Journalism, University of Missouri
Appointed:  2015
laura.jerden@stfrancisraleigh.org

Ben Burnette, Instructional Teaching Assistant

BA, History, UNC – Chapel Hill
Appointed: 2017
ben.burnette@stfrancisraleigh.org

Julie Sperrazza, Kindergarten Teacher

Licensure: K-6 Elementary Education, Remedial Reading and Language Arts K-12, English 9-12, Language Arts 6-8, Reading K-12
Certifications:  Remedial Reading and Language Arts K-12, Middle Grades Language Arts 6-12
Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
BS, Psychology, Sacred Heart University
MAT, Sacred Heart University
6th Year degree in Reading, Sacred Heart University
Appointed:  2012
julie.sperrazza@stfrancisraleigh.org

Mary Feeley, Instructional Teaching Assistant

BA, Theology, Belmont Abbey College
MS, Religion and Religious Education, Fordham University
Appointed: 2006
mary.feeley@stfrancisraleigh.org

First Grade

Sue Burdett, First Grade Teacher

Licensure: K-6 Elementary Education
Certificate:  K-12 Reading
BS, Elementary Education, East Carolina University
Appointed: 2000
sue.burdett@stfrancisraleigh.org

Vanda Setia, Instructional Teaching Assistant

BE, Bioprocess Engineering, University of New South Wales
MBA, University of Notre Dame
Appointed: 2015
vanda.setia@stfrancisraleigh.org

Jamie Kirchhoff, First Grade Teacher

Licensure: K-6 Elementary Education, K-12 Special Education
BA, Elementary Education, UNC – Wilmington
M.Ed., Learning Disabilities, North Carolina State University
Appointed: 2006
jamie.kirchhoff@stfrancisraleigh.org

Stephanie Garcia, Instructional Teaching Assistant
Rima Baltutsi, First Grade Teacher
Diana Velosa, Instructional Teaching Assistant

BS,Speech/Language Pathology, Universidad del Valle, Colombia
MA, Special Education, Converse College
Appointed:   2012
diana.velosa@stfrancisraleigh.org

Second Grade

Carol Lyles, Second Grade Teacher

Licensure:  K-6 Elementary Education
BA, English, SUNY Potsdam
MS, Technical Writing, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Appointed: 2002
carol.lyles@stfrancisraleigh.org

Teresa Walsh, Instructional Teaching Assistant

Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
Appointed:   2012
teresa.walsh@stfrancisraleigh.org

Megan McSwiney, Second Grade Teacher

Licensure: K-6 Elementary Education, 6-8 Math, K-12 Special Education, K-12 Reading Specialist, K-12 Learning Disabilities Specialist
Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
BA, Elementary Education, UNC – Chapel Hill
M.Ed., Special Education, North Carolina State University
Appointed:   2006
megan.mcswiney@stfrancisraleigh.org

Karin Ruiz, Instructional Teaching Assistant

Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
BA, English, Lehman College (CUNY)
Appointed:  2009
karin.ruiz@stfrancisraleigh.org

Third Grade

Marcy Henehan, Third Grade Teacher

Licensure:  Elementary Education, K-6
BA, Social Sciences, Aquinas College
M.Ed., Grand Valley State University
Appointed:  2009
marceline.henehan@stfrancisraleigh.org

Heather Sopko, Instructional Teaching Assistant

BA, Education, St. Mary’s
Appointed: 2017
heather.sopko@stfrancisraleigh.org

Kate LaPorte, Third Grade Teacher

Licensure:  K-6 Elementary Education,
Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
BS, Child Development & Family Relations, East Carolina University
Appointed: 2005
kate.laporte@stfrancisraleigh.org

Lisa Cardello-Price, Instructional Teaching Assistant

BS, Health/Community Health Services, Ohio University
MS, Accounting, Strayer University
Appointed: 2013
lisa.cardello-price@stfrancisraleigh.org

Cristina Leone, Third Grade Teacher

Licensure:  K-6 Elementary Education
Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
BA, Elementary Education, C.W. Post, Long Island University
Appointed: 2000
cristina.leone@stfrancisraleigh.org

Grace Gates, Instructional Teaching Assistant

BA, University of Pittsburgh
Appointed:  2001
grace.gates@stfrancisraleigh.org

Fourth Grade

Fran Franks, Fourth Grade Teacher

Licensure: K-6 Elementary/Early Childhood Education
Certification:  Level 2 PA
BS, Kutztown University
Appointed: 2006
fran.franks@stfrancisraleigh.org

Theresa Guntow, Instructional Teaching Assistant
Madyson Figlo, Fourth Grade Teacher

BA, Elementary Education, UNC – Wilmington
Appointed: 2017
madyson.figlo@stfrancisraleigh.org

Christy Rayle, Instructional Teaching Assistant
Ann Giannini, Fourth Grade Teacher

Licensure:  Elementary Education K-6
Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
BA, Elementary Education, Purdue University
MA, Teaching, Webster University
Appointed:  2007
ann.giannini@stfrancisraleigh.org

Fifth Grade

Lori Giannaccini, Fifth Grade Teacher

Licensure:  K-6 Elementary Education, 6-9 Middle Grades Language Arts, 9-12 English, K-12 Academically or Intellectually Gifted, K-12 Media Coordinator
BS, English Education, Kent State University
MLIS, UNC – Greensboro
Appointed: 2017
lori.giannaccini@stfrancisraleigh.org

Rose Rapp, Instructional Teaching Assistant

BS, Computer Information Systems, Accounting, Manhattan University, NY, NY
Appointed:  2012
rose.rapp@stfrancisraleigh.org

Stacey Kababik, Fifth Grade Teacher

Licensure: K-6 Elementary Education
Certification: Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
BA, Elementary Education, Saint Michael’s College
MA, Math Education, Eastern Nazarene College
Appointed: 2005
stacey.kababik@stfrancisraleigh.org

Christy Rayle, Instructional Teaching Assistant
Nancy Slone, Fifth Grade Teacher

Certifications:  Personal Trainer
BA, Child Development, Auburn University
BS, Elementary Education, University of West Florida
Appointed: 2016
nancy.slone@stfrancisraleigh.org

Middle School, Grades 6-8

Judy Bennett, Grade 8 Social Studies

Licensure: K-12 Librarian/Media Coordinator, 9-12 Social Studies
BA, American Studies, Goucher College
MLS, University of Hawaii
Appointed: 2005
judy.bennett@stfrancisraleigh.org

Tom Harmon, Grade 6 Math

Licensure:  Math 6-8, Math – Exceptional Children K-12
BS, Finance & Economics, University of South Carolina
M.Ed., North Carolina State University
Appointed: 2017
tom.harmon@stfrancisraleigh.org

Eli Langson, Grade 7 Social Studies

BA, Anthropology, Notre Dame University
M.Ed., Notre Dame University
Appointed:  2018
eli.langson@stfrancisraleigh.org

Lisa Steele, Grades 5-6 Spanish

Licensure:  K-12 Spanish
Certification:  Spanish, English as a Second Language
BA, Spanish Language and Literature, North Carolina State University
Appointed: 2006
lisa.steele@stfrancisraleigh.org

Patsy Thieken, Grades 7-8 Math, Computer Programming

Licensure:  Middle Grades Math
Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
BS, Mathematical Science (with Computer Science), UNC – Chapel Hill
MBA Duke University
Appointed:  2008
patsy.thieken@stfrancisraleigh.org

Kristen Dellasega, Grade 7 Language Arts

Licensure:  Middle Grades Education
Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
BA, Science & Language Arts, East Carolina University
Appointed:  2013
kristen.dellasega@stfrancisraleigh.org

Audrey Harrington, Grade 7 Science, Forensic Science, STEM

Licensure:  K-12
BS, Education, St. John’s University
MS., Reading Specialist, St. John’s University
Appointed:  2010
audrey.harrington@stfrancisraleigh.org

Carolyn Moser, Grade 8 Science, STEM

Licensure: Middle School Math, LA, Social Studies, Science
Certifications:  NC Environmental Certification, Nationally Board Certified in Early Adolescence Science
BS, Education, Appalachian State University
Appointed:  2005
carolyn.moser@stfrancisraleigh.org

Linda Sullivan, Grade 8 Language Arts

Licensure:  6-12 English, K-12 Academically Gifted
BA, English, University of California, Santa Barbara
M.Ed., Curriculum and Instruction, University of Kentucky
Appointed:   2007
linda.sullivan@stfrancisraleigh.org

Megan Winter, Grade 6 Language Arts

Licensure:  National Board
BA, Mary Washington College
Appointed: 2017
megan.winter@stfrancisraleigh.org

Joanne Finch, Grades 7-8 Religion

Certification:  Basic Catechist – Diocese of Raleigh
Appointed: 2008
joanne.finch@stfrancisraleigh.org

Donna Hennesen, Grade 6 Science

BS, Biology, SUNY Plattsburgh
M.Ed.., SUNY Pottsdam
Appointed:  2016
donna.hennesen@stfrancisraleigh.org

Kathryn Nystrom, Grade 6 Social Studies

BA, History, UNC – Chapel Hill
MA, Teaching SS Secondary Education, UNC – Chapel Hill
Appointed:  2016
kathryn.nystrom@stfrancisraleigh.org

Shawn Tenace, Grades 6-7 Religion

BS, History, Campbell University
M.Ed.,  Kinesiology, University of Virginia
Appointed:   2015
shawn.tenace@stfrancisraleigh.org

Claire Wittmeier, Grades 7-8 Math

BA, Mathematics Education, LeMoyne University
Appointed:  2013
claire.wittmeier@stfrancisraleigh.org

Specials

Matt Barbee, Grades 3-8 Music

BA, Music Performance, Virginia Polytechnic & State University
MM, Percussion Performance, East Carolina University
Appointed:  2015
matthew.barbee@stfrancisraleigh.org

Rachel Cappo, Grades 3-8 Art

BA, Art Education, Western Carolina University
Appointed: 2018
rachel.cappo@stfrancisraleigh.org

Kayla Dellinger, Technology Teacher

Licensure: K-6 Elementary Education
BS, Business Administration, UNC – Greensboro
Appointed: 2005
kayla.dellinger@stfrancisraleigh.org

Beatriz Jimenez, Grades 7-8 Spanish

Licensure:  Spanish K-12
BA, Spanish, University of Cincinnati, OH
BS, Education, University of Cincinnati, OH
MA, Spanish, University of Cincinnati, OH
Appointed:  2013
beatriz.jimenez@stfrancisraleigh.org

Eva Socko, Media Specialist

Licensure: Media
AAS, Secretarial Science, SUNY Farmingdale
BS, Business, University of Phoenix
MLS, East Carolina University
Appointed: 2005
eva.socko@stfrancisraleigh.org

Dan Burns, Grades 5-8 Physical Education

Licensure:  Physical Education K-12
BS, Physical Education, St. Bonaventure University
Appointed: 2010
dan.burns@stfrancisraleigh.org

Maureen Cesari, Grades K-2 Art

BFA, Graphic Design, East Carolina University
Appointed: 2015
maureen.cesari@stfrancisraleigh.org

Chris Elliott, Grades K-4 Physical Education

Licensure: Physical Education K-12
BA, Sports Management, North Carolina State University
M.Ed., University of Georgia
Appointed: 2000
chris.elliott@stfrancisraleigh.org

Emily Sartori, Grades 6-8 Drama

BA, Psychology, North Carolina State University
Contracted with Cardinal Gibbons High School:  2016
emily.sartori@stfrancisraleigh.org

Lisa Steele, Grades 5-6 Spanish

Licensure:  K-12 Spanish
Certification:  Spanish, English as a Second Language
BA, Spanish Language and Literature, North Carolina State University
Appointed: 2006
lisa.steele@stfrancisraleigh.org

Ryan Burdett, Grades K-2 Music, 6-8 Music Electives
Martina Coates, Media Assistant

BE, Mechanical Engineering, University of Munich
Appointed:  2011
martina.coates@stfrancisraleigh.org

Amalia Hopf, Grades K-4 Spanish
Kelly Shiel, Media Assistant

BS, Finance, UNC – Wilmington
MLS, East Carolina University
Appointed:  2016
kelly.shiel@stfrancisraleigh.org

Resource Specialists

LeAnne Allen, Grades 5-8 Instructional Support

Licensure:  Learning Disabilities K-12
BS, Special Education, Pembroke State University
M.Ed., Learning Disabilities, UNC-Chapel Hill
Appointed:  2010
leanne.allen@stfrancisraleigh.org

Celina Manville, Learning Specialist Grades K-5

Licensures:  Learning Disabled K-12, Elementary Education K-6
BS, Elementary Education / Learning Disabilities, Franciscan University
Appointed:  2015
celina.manville@stfrancisraleigh.org

Bridges – Before School and After School Care

Valerie Bass, Bridges After-School Staff

BA, Elementary Education & Psychology, Elmira College
Appointed: 2011
valerie.bass@stfrancisraleigh.orgh

Lynn Kern, Bridges After-School Staff

BA, Physical Education, Indiana State University
Appointed: 2012
lynn.kern@stfrancisraleigh.org

Alexandra Rommel, Bridges-Before School and After School Staff
Carew Bridges, Bridges After-School Staff

BS, Health and Physical Education, Appalachian State University
Appointed: 2017
carew.bridges@stfrancisraleigh.org

Rebecca McKinney, Bridges After-School Staff

Asheville Buncombe Technical Institute
Appointed:  2006
rebecca.mckinney@stfrancisraleigh.org

Sandra Simone, Bridges After-School Staff
Marie Kaczynski, Bridges After-School Staff

BA, Psychology, Russell Sage College
MS, Organizational Psychology, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Appointed:  2017
marie.kaczynski@stfrancisraleigh.org

Erika Parquet, Bridges After-School Staff

BA, History, Meredith College
Paralegal Certificate, Meredith College
Appointed:  2013
erika.parquet@stfrancisraleigh.org

Kelsey Socko, Bridges After-School Staff

Certification and Licensing

A classroom teacher in the Diocese of Raleigh is required to be licensed, or in the process of being licensed, by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.  Teachers with less than three years of verifiable experience must participate in the Initial Licensing Process (ILP) coordinated by the Catholic Schools Office ILT coordinator.

In maintaining a continuing license, all teachers are required to follow the guidelines of The Diocese of Raleigh License Plan (Appendix/Licensure Renewal), approved by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.  The Catholic Schools Office facilitates the licensure process.